TOLDJA! It’s Final, Nikke Finke leaves Deadline Gets New Site

Nikke-bigpic

It’s over, it’s finally over, like a never ending divorce, it is over. Nikke Finke has left Deadline.com

“Despite attempts by all to have it go otherwise, Nikki Finke will no longer be leading Deadline Hollywood, and she will not be writing weekend box office or filing stories going forward,” according to Mike Fleming JR. (whom Jay Penske was grooming to take Nikke’s place) and Nellie Andreeva

Ms. Finke confirmed the parting in her Twitter feed: “Jay Penske has just told me I am free to leave. He tried to buy my silence. No sale,” she wrote.

The bad blood between Finke and Penske began in 2012 when Mr. Penske bought Variety, another trade magazine. Nikke, who despised Variety and The Hollywood reporter for their lazy and genuflecting Hollywood ways, was pissed when she heard her rival had bought her out. When efforts by Nikke to put together investors to buy back Deadline failed, things become acidic and Nikki started writing less and less while dissing Deadline in interviews saying “[Penske] owns me like I’m his slave and he has been harassing me.” She goes on to say that the current iteration of Deadline is “bland and boring,” and that Penske’s working conditions are “breaking federal and state law.”

Although I am slightly saddened by this move, Ms. Finke won’t be on the sideline too long, as she has stated that, she has an offer that is a $5.5 million offer for NikkiFinke.com, and she has several other offers that she will flesh out. The homepage teaser says “NikkiFinke.com is coming to Hollywood,” with blood running down the page. A cryptic message to Deadline and other rivals?

nikkifinkecom-618x400

I loved Nikke’s energy and passion when her Deadline blog came out. She was like David against Hollywood Goliaths, and I loved her for that. I don’t know if I will read Deadline again, but I do know I will be going to Nikkefinke.com

“Come for the cynicism.  Stay for the subversion.  Don’t steal Nikke’s scoops.”

Good luck Nikke!

Leave a Reply

